powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Site Meter
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Suicide-Watch

2006-05-07 - 2:41 a.m.

On January 19, 2006, my stepsister, whose real name is Melissa, and I don't give a fuck if she's identified here or not, with the complicity of her brother, Alexander, and the agency-supplied sitter, Jane, managed to get both my mom and step-dad into the car with the promise of "a nice lunch in baton rouge." I didn't even know that they were in town. Jane called me and told me that she would be working a split shift, and would be returning that evening to prepare a meal and dispense meds. She encouraged me to go out with Jared, and we did. The next morning I drove to my mother's home to find Melissa, Alexander and Jane loading up a U-Haul with my mother's clothing, personal effects and furniture from her first marriage to my dad, in addition to some of their dad's personal items. My parents had been dumped off at a nursing home in Baton Rouge the day before, left in a room with only a bed and nothing else, without my knowledge. Melissa had gone through the court system and had her dad interdicted, i.e., stripped of all his rights as a citizen and declared incompetent by the court, with service withheld and without the usual adversarial hearing which precedes this type of legal maneuever. Melissa alleged that because I had my mother's power of attorney, and because they shared joint accounts and I was assiduously paying the household bills, including reinstating the lapsed homeowners' policy a week or so before Katrina and also my step-dad's long-term care policy, that I had played fast and loose with his finances.

I came thisclose to whipping her motherfucking ass, but was saved by the knowledge that jail would only further delay me from retrieving my mother from the hell-hole she was in: the locked Alzheimer's ward. My mama was still doing the daily crossword puzzles in the Times-Picayune! No one held any paper on her, yet there she was, virtually imprisoned in Baton Rouge. Mi hija jumped off the chain on all of them too! They were scared to fuckin' death of both of us. I called the cops, they sent 3 units. Melissa told them that my priority shouldn't be stopping her from raiding the house, but getting to BR because unless I signed papers admitting my mother to the nursing home, she would be "taken to a charity nursing home or put out on the street."

Long story short for that day, it took me, Jared, mi hija and her boyfriend and my friend Linsey to spring my mama from the nursing home.

It gets so much worse y'all.

I'm trying to keep from self-annihilation right now. Tonight it is my goal to not kill myself.

Theme: Stayin' Alive

Reason: Mama needs me more than I need to fuckin' die.

Mantra: "Just for today I won't put a bullet through my brain."

~ ~ ~ But there's always tomorrow ~ ~ ~

previous - next

still here - 2009-12-18
and so it goes - 2008-12-16
Watch out Benedict! - 2008-01-28
She got hit with the cancer stick - 2008-01-26
The Cure, Amy & Britney & Dogshit - 2008-01-05

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!