powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Site Meter
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Solitaire & Ivan

2004-09-13 - 10:16 a.m.

I'm addicted to the Spider solitaire game that's standard issue on all newer computers. I play it on "difficult" where it's nigh on impossible to beat, but I have on quite a few occasions. What i hate about that game, however, is that when you've gone as far as you can go, there are no other cards to deal from the deck and not a single play left, and you hit "Start new game," this box comes up that says, "Are you sure you want to start a new game?" And the default is "no!" Look, I may be undecided on some major issues in my life (to take the treatment for the hep c, to quit drinking, to go to grad school or not), but honey, I'm really fucking certain that I want to start a new game of Spider solitaire! I mean, c'mon. Is it necessary to ask me that? I've tried to figure out how to make that msg go away, but it's either impossible or i'm simply too dim-witted to figger it out. Whateva.

In other news, it looks as if Ivan may be headed our way. I know FL sure did need a break, altho the panhandle is still in danger, but I truly hope N0LA doesn't take a direct hit up the mouth of the Mississippi River. it's definitely a doom and gloom situation if a category 5 makes a direct hit. they estimate 20,000 loss of life in the worst case scenario, mainly b/c many ppl down there own no vehicles to evacuate, and even with the Dome as shelter, that still leaves a bunch of folks with nowhere to go and no way to get there. From Plaquemines parish to kenner will be flooded, the Quarter completely. Where are they all gonna go? Last time we had a close brush with a big 'un, they made bothe lanes of the interstate head out of the city toward MS, but then the MS governor got in a snit and said we couldn't do that anymore, they didn't want a bunch of flippin' N'Awlins refugees heading into their pristine state. We got a new governor with a little bit more couth than the last yahoo, so maybe she can ask MS guv a little more politely and get a different answer. For myself, I'm not as worried, b/c I'm far enough away from the city that flooding probably won't be a big problem. I worry about the winds, b/c of the pine trees in my front and back yards. They will snap like matchsticks and if they fall on the house, well, it won't be pretty. Of course, I'll bring all nine (!) dogs in, so you can just imagine the chaos in my home.

Well, there's no use worry about it - it will either hit us or not. I hope not.

previous - next

still here - 2009-12-18
and so it goes - 2008-12-16
Watch out Benedict! - 2008-01-28
She got hit with the cancer stick - 2008-01-26
The Cure, Amy & Britney & Dogshit - 2008-01-05

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!