powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Site Meter
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Motivation, or lack thereof

2004-11-13 - 8:16 a.m.

I'm working at home for my old boss today, catching up 3 months of paperwork and reports. Reading the files, I am frustrated by the fact that some of our clients make absolutely no attempts to progress. They are simply content with the status quo and living their marginal lives with virtually no input from themselves whatsoever. If they didn't stand in line to get it free, they don't have it and never will. Without sounding like a dreaded Republican, I just don't understand that attitude. At my worst, i wanted better for myself and my child. At my best, I achieved it. I realize that there is a great disparity between me and the clients on many levels, but the desire to do better is evident in some and completely absent in others. We have Brenda, a white female, with mental and physical disabilities, who is manipulative with the system, but won't even use her own money to buy orthopedic shoes so she can walk. And then we have Theresa G, a young Black mom of 3 with mental disabilities who busts her ass for herself and her kids every day. Why does Theresa care so much and Brenda so little? Brenda's house is literally falling apart; one can see both earth and sky through the floorboards and roof, respectively. Theresa G lives in subsidized housing, but it's neat as a pin and picked up every time I visited. It's totally a matter of attitude. It makes me want to help Theresa and be apathetic about Brenda. I know that's wrong, but the attitude rubs off.

Tomorrow is the 2nd annual B@sset H0und B00gie in @udobon P@rk in N0LA. I'm entering my bh. She'll be the really big female with the shiny coat. I'll be the one on the other end of the leash struggling to keep up the pace for 2.5 miles. She has a lot of energy, yeah, and all those other b@ssets will motivate her even more. Come watch. come laugh. A herd of b@ssets and their human companions, comin' at ya. Watch out!

previous - next

still here - 2009-12-18
and so it goes - 2008-12-16
Watch out Benedict! - 2008-01-28
She got hit with the cancer stick - 2008-01-26
The Cure, Amy & Britney & Dogshit - 2008-01-05

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!