powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Site Meter
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Got the Unemployment Blues

2004-09-23 - 9:49 p.m.

Had a long talk with the Coonass today. Their phone service was just restored from Ivan, who, unbelievably, is coming around again to take another potshot at the Gulf Coast.

The brand new boat Goldilocks and her Dad and family members took for its maiden sail on Labor Day? It's trashed. Took a week to find its remains. Blew it over toward Pensac0la way. The Coonass & Goldilocks house sustained minor damage, nothing structural. Her family's home is much more seriously trashed. Uninhabitable was how he described it. So her parents and sister who has Crohn's disease and is on disability and lives with them are all now living with the Coonass and Goldilocks. This is driving him crazy. We shared horror stories of having house guests from hell, one-upping one another with tales of the absurd-but-true. I laughed until I got the hiccups. I needed the comic relief.

Talking with him was the only bright spot in my day. My boss has not only not paid me this week like she promised, but has quit returning my calls. I'm going in tomorrow and collecting all of my things, deleting my shit off the computer, locking up and leaving the key. "Take this job and shove it - I ain't working here no more!" How I'll get paid what I'm owed I've no idea, but I will. I don't take a fucking without fucking back. I don't want to get her in trouble, but if she pushes me, I know where all of her bodies are buried.

So I will now join the ranks of the completely unemployed, which totally sucks, but is somewhat of a relief, because there won't be the stress of wondering when I'll be paid for work that I've done weeks and months ago.

I sent off for info on taking the GRE. I'm writing up my will. I'm tying to plan for whatever the future brings.

previous - next

still here - 2009-12-18
and so it goes - 2008-12-16
Watch out Benedict! - 2008-01-28
She got hit with the cancer stick - 2008-01-26
The Cure, Amy & Britney & Dogshit - 2008-01-05

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!