powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Site Meter
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Finally! Some good news!

2005-05-11 - 10:54 a.m.

I got some good news yesterday. I went to see the hep c doc in N0LA yesterday to get the results of some blood tests they ran a few weeks ago. I learned that I have the type 3 genotype of the virus, which is rarer but much more likely to be cured by the treatment. Types 1 & 2 have about a 40% cure rate after a year of treatment, but Type 3 is about 80% after 6 months. I like those odds a lot better! I was really excited to hear that. Plus, I've lost 8 lbs since last month, and the treatment works best if you're not overweight. I'm sure that has to do with the diet pills I've been taking, but whatever works, ya know?

And I have an interview today at noon with the local d0mestic vi0lence prevention center. The lady we rent our office space from knows the director personally, and told me to use her as a reference. This lady really likes me, and I've been doing a lot of work for her like answering phones, taking messages, typing letters, etc. So I'm encouraged by that. I dreamed last night that the interview was held at my house, which was a mess, with dogs running everywhere and paraphernalia laying around and Jockboy singing Kid Rock "I spend all my time at Hollywood and Vine" and mi hija walking through the house in just a towel after a shower! It was a real nightmare, but I woke up laughing because it was so funny. It was like the absolute worst case interview scenario. So anything has to be better than that. The position is part-time, not a whole lot of money, but better than I'm making right now, for sure, and I doubt that there is all this drama associated with getting paid. I have my current boss's blessing to go for it. That always helps.

Gipsy is in town and - I may have said this in an earlier entry - no longer is mad at me for going to Italy with Queenie. She's still furious with Queenie, though, who by the way just had another 0CS complaint lodged against her. I had nothing to do with it. I swear. Anyway, Gipsy and I went down in the swamp and played video poker last night, and I wound up winning over $60, which is unusual for me, because I'm not a big (or very lucky) gambler. Then we ate at the Nautical Bar, although the food sucked for some reason last night, and she spent the night on my couch.

Could it be . . . dare I hope . . . that maybe, just maybe, my luck may have changed? That I'm not doomed?

Or is that just wishful thinking?

previous - next

still here - 2009-12-18
and so it goes - 2008-12-16
Watch out Benedict! - 2008-01-28
She got hit with the cancer stick - 2008-01-26
The Cure, Amy & Britney & Dogshit - 2008-01-05

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!