powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Site Meter
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

There goes the weekend . . .

2004-07-30 - 9:02 p.m.

My dog had rallied by the time I got home last night. That made me happy. I loved on him a lot, saying, "Who's my dog? Tony's my dog!" They love that. That's his name. He looks like a little Italian man driving a cab and wearing an old be-bop cap in NY or somewhere. Sometimes I call him Ant'ny, like they do in N'Awlins. But mainly he's Tony.

We got 2 new clients at work this week. Services start for them on Sunday. So I have spent hrs here at the office opening duplicate files (which are really big 3-ring binders) on them, printing up agency info packets, yada yada yada. What happens before I finish?

Guess.

C'mon. Ya know ya wanna.

Right-o! The print cartrige runs out! You guessed 'er, chester! And Alligator - of course - has no 0ffice Dep0t, even if I had the petty cash to go buy one. I call the boss, my friend I'll call Odetta, because I don't, who lives 30 miles the east. She sighed and said she'll bring me one tomorrow.

You interpreted that correctly if you understood that I now must work on Saturday. I told her in no uncertain terms that I must have Sunday - Monday off, because my friend and his wife and kid are in town from, I shit you not, Abu Dhabi (I probably murdered the spelling on that country name), and I'm going down to N0LA to hang out w/ my old buddy while his wife takes their kid to see the Wiggles. I'm not really sure what a Wiggles is, but I remember something about them from Uncle Bob's entry a few months back, so I guess they are all the rage for the 3 - 4 yr old set. Like the Teletubbies were before Jerry Falwell got to them. Or like H.R. Puffnstuff was in the 70s.

Any of y'all old enough to remember HR Puffnstuff? "He's your friend when things get rough! HR Puffnstuff - he can't do a little 'cause he can't do enough!" Which literally means he can't do a damn thing, but who noticed, back in the day?

Anyway, I digress. So I gotta work Saturday. That oughta be a blow to my friend Queenie, who was counting on me to help her move from her house in Alligator to a trailer out in the sticks. I must have moved a dozen ppl since I got my truck. I moved Celynne, Gypsy (2 x), Odetta, one client (2 x), & an entire office full of furniture (2 x). Ok not a dozen, but plenty for only having the truck a couple yrs.

By the way, did I ever mention that my office is in a building that used to be a brothel? Honey, if these walls could talk . . .

previous - next

still here - 2009-12-18
and so it goes - 2008-12-16
Watch out Benedict! - 2008-01-28
She got hit with the cancer stick - 2008-01-26
The Cure, Amy & Britney & Dogshit - 2008-01-05

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!