powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Site Meter
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

On a thankful note

2004-11-24 - 8:05 p.m.

I should be doing thanksgiving dinner-related preparatory tasks, not the least of which is clean my house. But mi hija and her bf dropped by for awhile, and she promised to arrive by 10 a.m. tomorrow to sweep and mop the kitchen floor, run the vaccuum and do other badly needed household tasks so i can concentrate on cooking the bird and its trimmings. Queenie is eating with Lily and Dina and Lily's mama, who is in a wheelchair. Their families go way back. Lily's mama and Queenie's mama were good friends before she died in the fire. My mo and stepdad are coming, also mi hija and her boyfriend. My gay, black friend (I can't remember his name in here today either) will be here. I'm mad at Unka Robby still for his stupidity over the summer, but left him a msg that he was invited. I don't want to take the chance that he might spend the holiday alone. He has brothers, but they don't really mingle much. One of his brothers just married the other's ex-wife and mother of his children ("Call Uncle Daddy for dinner, girls!"), so there's tension amongst the brothers now anyway. I knew Robby was an idiot who liked to pretend he was a lawyer anyway, so I shouldn't have been surprised when he did it again over the summer and involved me in the fiasco.

I got my S0ma filled 2 days early so I would be sure to have some tomorrow. Being on my feet, cooking and washing dishes always affects my lower back in a bad way. At least the plumber came this a.m. and fixed the clogged sink in the kitchen. I spent one Christmas in a mobile home I used to own with a clogged kitchen sink and had to wash all of my dishes on Christmas Eve in the bathtub. Didn't want a repeat performance this holiday.

We had a front come through last night with fierce wind, rain, and a few tornados in the vicinity, and now it's actually appropriate weather for Turkey Day. Although I wore shorts earlier and had the windows open, I'm now snuggly in sweats and a long-sleeved jersey, and all the windows are shut for the night. I have 6 out of 9 dogs bedded down inside, and a puppy and kitten asleep in a bathroom where they can't do too much damage (I hope). The other 3 insisted on hanging tough outside tonight. Don't worry; they have a huge doghouse. All 9 can fit inside if they need to. But my chihuahuas are never outside except to do their business and for a leisurely stroll around the 'hood. You know how chihuahuas are - they like to snuggle at night.

This year it's been harder to find things to be grateful for than in others. But there are still many pluses in my life: my mom is alive and well, and her husband; mi hija and I are getting along better; I have some loyal and true friends; I graduated from college; I'm working at least a little bit again; I got a lot of really great dogs. Maybe the rest that's not-so-good will change soon.

To all Americans, Happy Thanksgiving from Shana. To all others, have a wonderful day wherever you are.

previous - next

still here - 2009-12-18
and so it goes - 2008-12-16
Watch out Benedict! - 2008-01-28
She got hit with the cancer stick - 2008-01-26
The Cure, Amy & Britney & Dogshit - 2008-01-05

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!