powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Site Meter
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Grouchy and sleepy

2005-01-14 - 7:45 p.m.

Yesterday I did one of Lily's daughter's C0ncert@ pills around 3 p.m., even though I know better. It caused me to be up latelatelate, past two, reading "B@ck to Missi$$ippi," a family memoir / civil rights saga I got for a buck at D0llar General, my answer to Mal-Wart. Then when finally in bed after 3, the dogs had one of their "confrontational" nights over a leftover chewy somebody had unearthed in the yard. Bottom line? I'd had maybe two hours of sleep when Jockboy awakens me at 5 a.m., with the words, "Miss Shana, do you want me to succeed in life?"

The thing of it is, I really do. I love that crazy, misguided manchild who spent a year of his life in my spare room. So I took the bait.

"What you want, Jockboy?"

"I got to be in Metry by 7 a.m. to pee for a job." (Metry is a deliberate misspelling of a N0LA suburb about 50 minutes from here).

I laughed. I knew that, on my best day, that would be a stretch. And we weren't even close. To compound the problem, for the last few nights, Queenie had taken my truck and spent the night with Gabby in their trailer (without electricity or heat), working after dark by candlelight to get it habitable. My truck was about 10 miles away, and Queenie had no phone. But I agreed that whenever she surfaced, I'd go pick him up.

She arrived about 9 with Gabby. I told her the game plan, and she didn't like it. She had to get Gabby to pre-school, and it was only a half day today, and she had an MD appt at 1 p.m. She started to say shit about Jockboy b/c he'd promised to block up her trailer after his daddy moved it, then didn't, but his daddy did it anyway. I told her that I wasn't getting into a pissing contest with her about this, I was just going to do what I was going to do. If it inconvenienced her or caused her to change her plans, so be it. As it is, she has my truck more than I do, and if I'm home anyway, that's cool, but if I want to go any-damn-where, you can believe I will. So she got the Monster to preschool, and I took her to Lily's house and Jockboy to Metry, which wound up taking all day. I got home and there was a msg to pick them up, 10 or so miles to the southwest at the trailer.

Now, I've been up since 5 on a couple hrs sleep, I'm tired, hungry, irritable, ready to smoke a bowl, eat a couple S0ma, drink a beer and relax before crashing on out. But for the first night in weeks, it's going to be in the 30s tonight, and I know she's without heat. Of course I go get her.

I pull up, and she opens the door to tell me they're staying there. It was 6:41 p.m. At 5:50 p.m., I got the call from Lily to pick them up at the trailer. WTF happened in less than an hour? And if her plans changed, why didn't she trot her ass back to her neighbor's where she called Lily before with the msg to pick her up, and ask to use the phone to inform me that I didn't need to make the trip to get her?
I really don't get the inconsideration, although I do know how to combat it.

Unavailability. You can believe that me and my truck will suddenly be really hard to pin down and find this weekend. There's a boat parade on Sunday I'm definitely going to, and I'll occupy myself some way Saturday too. I sure ain't gonna haul Queenie and the Monster around all weekend.

You can take that to the bank.

previous - next

still here - 2009-12-18
and so it goes - 2008-12-16
Watch out Benedict! - 2008-01-28
She got hit with the cancer stick - 2008-01-26
The Cure, Amy & Britney & Dogshit - 2008-01-05

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!