powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Site Meter
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Send in the Clones

2004-09-18 - 7:46 p.m.

Mi hija entered the Miss Nutria pageant today. She didn't do so hot. She got 4th runner-up and Miss C0ngeniality. She had hoped to place a little higher than that. She was the youngest at 17. The other girls were all in college; the next youngest was 19. The girl who won was 22. I told her that she did just fine and she was okay with it. She didn't really want to win - her 1st appearance would be on her 18th birthday next month, and her 2nd the night of her senior homecoming dance. She was poised and gracious to the winner and the other contestants. I think the interview flustered her a bit. She was asked what her most embarrassing moment was, and blurted out something stupid that happened when she was with her dad. It was true, but not the stuff that beauty queens reveal. Nothing bad, but reeked of dysfunction on her father's part. I think that had to do with her only placing 4th. I told her she'll always be my beauty queen, and she will. She's so pretty and so smart! She makes me proud just thinking that she's my daughter.

For Labor Day, she went off camping with her b/f. When I drove back from MS that night, she had left me a sweet card telling me that she wanted to spend as much times as possible with me for whatever time I have left. I know she wants me to take the treatments, but thus far, she is respecting my decision to hold off. She knows I'm scared, that I prefer quality of life to quantity of years. I am being selfish, but it's out of utter terror at losing control of my body and / or mental faculties. That and my stubborn Irish tendencies. My mom used to tell me, "If you could just get that through your thick Irish head . . ." She of course, not being from the auld sod, but having married one of Boston's typical descendants of County Cork emigres. Who knows? Maybe someday a little light will slip through the phrenology of my brain.

The whole Miss Nutria Dog & Pony show meant that I was unable to accompany Celynne to or help her yesterday prepare for, her jewelry show. It also meant that I sold none of what I made either, but that's ok. But Celynne will be mad I know.

I loaned Queenie my truck again, and she just called to tell me her van broke down on the interstate. Sigh. I need to clone myself. Maybe one of us might even have a decent liver.

previous - next

still here - 2009-12-18
and so it goes - 2008-12-16
Watch out Benedict! - 2008-01-28
She got hit with the cancer stick - 2008-01-26
The Cure, Amy & Britney & Dogshit - 2008-01-05

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!