powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Site Meter
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Jobs and Assholes

2005-01-13 - 3:09 p.m.

Thanks for the recent comments in my guestbook / notes. Sometimes it takes me awhile to check and I don't know that somebody left me a msg. A couple ppl commented on my job situation, and I'm going to explain where I'm at with that today. As usual, it's a little complicated.

My employment history hasn't been exactly spotty, but let's just say I have worn a variety of hats over the last 20 yrs or so. In no particular order, I have been a bartender, paralegal, medical assistant, editorial coordinator, secretary, assistant program director, phlebotomist, and pesticide safety trainer. I was better at some jobs than others. Jobs in which I was particularly successful were paralegal, editorial coordinator, assistant program director and secretary. I hated the phlebotomist gig. Bartending was cool at the time. Pesticide safety trainer almost killed me from toxicity to asthma meds I had to take to do the job. I liked the medical assistant position, but it also required blood drawing, which, as stated, I didn't like at all. So I've been all over the field of employment.

I can't use Supercunt the attorney as a reference, because I didn't leave on good terms with her, and she is a bitch on wheels. Basically, she tried to control my personal life under the guise of my job description, I wouldn't go for it, and quit on the spot. I fought her for unemployment and won. She will never give me a decent reference even though I spent almost 4 years doing a stellar job for her.

Another former employer threatened to kill me (he was the coroner at the time, and would also pronounce me dead and determine my cause of death, so I took it pretty seriously). A bunch of shit ensued, involving the police, the local newspaper, the attorney general's office, the district attorney, the legislative auditor's office, the Board of Medical Examiners, the DEQ, the DEA, and Waste Management. I may have left out a few relevant agencies, but you get my drift. He sued me, lost, I sued him, won. Scratch another good reference off my list.

One lady I worked for as editorial coordinator had a stroke and died and the business closed. There went another one. A hospital and plasma donation center I worked for no longer exist, so there go two more.

I really, really, really need at least one good employment reference who is alive, non-felonious, unindicted / unimprisoned, and still in business. That brings me to my current boss, Odetta, whom I have worked for in one capacity or another since 1996. She meets all of the above criteria, at least right now, anyway. She is also aware of my situation and knows that I need her right now more than she needs me. I can't afford to piss her off until I secure other employment, which I need her good reference to do. This fucked up situation has caused her to underpay me and take advantage of my good nature by making paying me in a timely manner rather low on her list of priorities. I don't think it's a deliberate attempt to fuck me over (this woman came within 15 minutes of losing her home to foreclosure because she is terrible about money), but fuck me over it does, nonetheless. Of course, it doesn't help that unemployment is high in our area and I got a degree in, of all the impractical fields, English! What was I thinking??! Healthcare is where it's happening, honey. Young people looking for career advice - think healthcare. I guess I was just a little burned out on it when I went back to school, but if I had to do it over again, I would go into some healthcare field (OT, PT, public health administration, some-damn-thing). Anything but freakin' English, especially since I don't particularly want to teach. I hate speaking in front of groups, whether kids or adults. That's kinda the whole concept of teaching, so there you go.

On another front, remember my concern about Gipsy and my plan to have Lily call her? What a freakin' fiasco! Lily left a very nice msg on the answering machine, inquiring as to her health and welfare, telling her ppl were concerned about her, and to give her a call to let her know how she was. She gave her a call, all right. She called to ask her never to call again! What a fucked up response to a geture of concern. She's mad at Queenie about the money owed for the piece of shit van Queenie bought from her, which hasn't run in months, btw, mad at me b/c I went to Italy with Queenie, and I have no earthly idea what her grudge at Lily is about. Probably just because Lily remains on good terms with Queenie and I. I apologized profusely to Lily for asking her to make the call in the first place, and I have permanently washed my hands of any further concerns re Gipsy's health and well-being, or lack thereof. Fuck her and her shitty attitude! She ain't the only one with health and other problems, although that's all she worries about. 2005 was going to be the Year of Shana, and I meant it. I am not wasting a drop of energy or compassion to help a single person who doesn't deserve it or who is not supportive of me. Fuck that shit. Get over yourself and stand on your own two feet, because this crutch is no longer around to prop your ass up. I sound mad because I am. If everybody is acting like Miss Me-gimme-mine, so will I. If you're a meth-snorting rip-off scammer (Celynne), goodbye! If you're too busy at your own distorted, vengeance-filled pity-party (Gipsy), slam! I ain't got the time for the pain. I got places to go and people to see before I check on out of here, and you're standing in my fucking way!

Damn, there's nothing sadder than a disillusioned Democrat.

previous - next

still here - 2009-12-18
and so it goes - 2008-12-16
Watch out Benedict! - 2008-01-28
She got hit with the cancer stick - 2008-01-26
The Cure, Amy & Britney & Dogshit - 2008-01-05

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!