powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Site Meter
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

This is how it was

2005-11-01 - 5:14 p.m.

Again, many thanks for your expressions of concern. I never meant for anyone to worry about me, but things were so crazy over the summer that I was never able to get near a computer in private. Mainly, not near a computer period.

My boss shut down our office and business, partly due to Queenie's shit and partly due to her own mother's increasingly ill health. So . . . we had the no money syndrome. Then my step-father's physical health caused him to be admitted into the hospital. His mental deterioration necessitated his being admitted onto a locked ward, greatly distressing my mother and accelerating her own mental decline. Family descended. Everyone had differing opinions re What Would Happen Next. I won. They did not get put into a home. But I was busy day and night meeting their needs and had to contract with an agency for help.

And Katrina came. She was the Big One.

Very bad. My perspective is from the north shore, nothing like the City. And she was still . . . very bad. Killer winds, downed trees, slashing rain, no elctricity for 12 days, no available cash or gas or open stores. For me personally, I rode it out here and made numerous trips daily to my parents' house. They had an 80' oak tree go down and clip the corner of their roof. Their neighbors brought them a genny, so they could keep cool, and I visited various churches twice a day to bring them hot meals. My friends and I here bbq'd all the meat in the freezer using the limbs from the trees as fuel. We drank and smoked ourselves into oblivion at night so we could stand the heat as we tried to sleep. Passing out was the easiest option. We took it.

None of what I went through is even close to the real tragedies of the City, and in no way do I mean to imply that it is. Everything is relative, yada yada. But bad is bad. And it was bad.

I'll talk about the Indian later.

previous - next

still here - 2009-12-18
and so it goes - 2008-12-16
Watch out Benedict! - 2008-01-28
She got hit with the cancer stick - 2008-01-26
The Cure, Amy & Britney & Dogshit - 2008-01-05

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!