powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Site Meter
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Friday the 13th fire and idiots

2005-05-18 - 9:43 a.m.

Oh, my my, shit has been happening around here lately. Where to start?

My friend Lily managed to burn her mother's house down last Friday the 13th (the old lady in a wheelchair I sometimes mention in here). Lily was drunk, loaded, as she always is, and probably fell asleep* (a/k/a "nodded out") with a cigarette as she often does, although her official story is even stupider: she was looking under her bed for some scrapbooks using a utility candle instead of a flashlight. If I was so damn incompetent that I put a candle under a freakin' bed, I sure as hell would never admit to it. The house is a total loss; they barely escaped with their lives. If Lily's brother Buck wasn't sleeping on the couch and heard her screams, her mama definitely would have died in the fire, because there is no way Lily could pick her up and get her out. She's a paraplegic from a wreck about 25 or 30 years ago. As it was, Buck had to bust out a window and dump her out headfirst. She needed a few stitches, and Buck got some minor burns, along with Lily, but it was divine intervention that I didn't spend last weekend at the funeral home for their wakes. So they are staying hither and yon, no clothes or anything salvageable.

They called me Saturday after the fire, wanting me to know and to also tell Gipsy, who is still here from TX. I hated telling her, because she lost her mom in an arson fire on, coincidentally, another Friday the 13th 23 years ago. After I reassured her that everyone was alive, she handled it surprisingly well. Then we arrived at the house. The front looked singed and damaged, but not like it was engulfed. Then we walked around the side, to the back where the fire started in Lily's room.

There was nothing there. Nothing but charred wood and detritus and melted vinyl siding. Gipsy lost it then. It affected me, too, but not like her. All those memories tumbled back on her, and she just sobbed. It was really horrible for her. Here she was, just weeks off of chemo, trying to absorb the blow that she almost lost someone who was just like a mama to her the same way she'd lost her own mama. We didn't stay long after that.

So it was a sobering weekend, to say the least. I gave Lily's youngest daughter some clothes Saturday, and also a few things I had that I thought would fit Lily in a pinch, because she's quite a bit taller than me and about 20 lbs lighter. Mainly t-shirts and shorts, and I bought her 2 pr of shoes b/c she's a 9 and I'm a 6. Dina, her older daughter, is staying with Queenie, so Sunday Gipsy and I drove over there to ask Dina if she needed clothes. She and my daughter are roughly the same size, mi hija maybe a little smaller around the waist and butt, but not much. I also wanted to talk to her about Lily. The old lady's nurse's aide asked if Lily could stay at my house, and the answer is "no." She's a danger to herself and others, she's already burned down one house, I'm leaving town, I don't allow people to smoke in my house as it is, it just won't work. I thought maybe she could stay over there with Dina and Queenie, and that's why I went there, to ask Dina if she could. Dina said most of her clothes were already there at Queenie's anyway, so she didn't really need any warm weather clothing right now. She said maybe Queenie would let her stay, she'd have to ask. We never got out of the truck at all; she came out to us. When it was over, she hugged my neck and thanked me and we left.

Monday a.m., Queenie went to the local yokel justice of the peace and signed criminal charges against Gipsy and me for trespassing and disturbing the peace, saying we went over there yelling and threatening her, which is the biggest bunch of crap I've ever heard. We didn't even see a glimpse of her; our visit was solely with Dina, and lasted less than 10 minutes. I never even turned the truck off. We spent all day yesterday trying to get it resolved, to no avail. We will be arrested and booked as charged, have to go to court on these bogus charges.

It is clearly retaliatory because Gipsy is pursuing the fundraising improprieties from a benefit Queenie had for her, but failed to give her all the money raised, allegedly misappropriating the bulk of the funds for her own needs. And it�s clear that she has an axe to grind with me. So of course now we will have to go through this shit and eventually sue her civilly and pursue charges for filing false reports and take up all this time and energy that could be funneled into positive actions and projects.

What she needs is a good ass kicking. Someone to just sit on top of her and beat her down, smash her big nose in a few times, bust up her mouth, dot those eyes. It�s killing me not to do it. It makes my blood boil just thinking about it. I want to smash bones and see blood. I want to inflict terrible pain, damage nerves and tear skin. I hate this side of myself. I hate being vengeful and violent. I hate wanting to hurt and maim. But I do. If someone said they�d offer me a million dollars or the chance to inflict great bodily harm to Queenie without fear of legal or other reprisals, it would be no contest. The bitch would get her ass kicked royally, and I�d stay poor. But that�s not going to happen. I just have to beat her at her own game. And of course I will. But I just have so many other, better things to do.

Like pack for my trip and clean my house and wash my dogs and clean my truck and pick up mi hija�s senior pictures and get my jewelry back from the jeweler who�s fixing it and cash my paycheck and pay my car insurance and my mechanic and tutor Boosey�s granddaughter who is failing 1st grade because she can�t read and reassure my mama for the eleventh hundred time that she has both hotel and plane reservations for Chicago and she cannot drive there instead and pay the lesbians who agreed to be the dog sitters and go to Jockboy�s night school graduation tonight and mi hija�s graduation tomorrow night and replace the broken window pane in the guest bedroom and buy a tarp for the truck and get a disposable digital camera and buy food for the trip and 70# of dog food and give everyone their Advantage and heart worm meds and call the vet and see if a pregnant dog can use Advantage and arrange for the mail to be stopped and clean out the ice chest and get my prescriptions filled and print my mom�s e-ticket and my hotel confirmation and mapquest directions and get laid before I go.

So let me go do all that, and fuck that stupid bitch.

previous - next

still here - 2009-12-18
and so it goes - 2008-12-16
Watch out Benedict! - 2008-01-28
She got hit with the cancer stick - 2008-01-26
The Cure, Amy & Britney & Dogshit - 2008-01-05

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!