powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Site Meter
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Adios, Florabama!

2004-09-17 - 10:26 p.m.

Wow. I spent today reading about / viewing the damage wrought by Ivan in AL and the FL panhandle. The fuckin' Florabama Lounge on the state line, the one with Red's and my names scrawled on one of the tables when we hoisted our first "Welcome to Florida" beers on one memorable trip, is leveled. It no longer exists. The Florabama is gone. Gone with the condos in Orange Beach, the bridge to Pensacola.

I sounded so flip in my earlier entry, but I truly didn't know the extent of the storm damage. I was listening to RN0 out of the city along with the local college alternative station, but none of them mentioned how hard AL & FL were hit. I guess they didn't know at that point. The pictures I saw are downright scary. If that had been us, we'd still be under water.

Anyway, I am humbled by the devastation Ivan wrought. He's one badass mofo to take out the whole fuckin Florabama.

previous - next

still here - 2009-12-18
and so it goes - 2008-12-16
Watch out Benedict! - 2008-01-28
She got hit with the cancer stick - 2008-01-26
The Cure, Amy & Britney & Dogshit - 2008-01-05

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!