powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Site Meter
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

evacute my ass!

2004-09-16 - 2:09 p.m.

So that was the worst excuse for a hurricane I've ever seen. after all that hype, doomsday scenario-painting weathercasters w/ their high-tech computer simulators, give me ol' Nash Roberts and his black marker any day! Nash could pick 'em, I tell ya. People put their faith in Nash,b/c he knew not to get everyone's panties in a wad when it was those po' folks over Mobile way needed to bust out their rosaries and hit their knees, not us.

It didn't even rain, folks. Nary a drop. 3 out of 9 dogs rode it out in the yard, and 2 of the 6 inside were chomping at the bit to get back out, but by that point, I'd gone to bed and set my alarm for 1 a.m., thinking that ought to be the height of the wind / rain / storm. It was barely windy, so I crashed back until 4 a.m. When I peeked outside, it was as still as could be. Now it's humid and muggy, the air like a hot wet blanket draped around your shoulders in the sun. In other words, back to business as usual in LA.

Except the interstates. My gawd, stay off the flippin' interstates. It's a good thang I'm a back roads kind of gal, because that's the absofuckinlutely only way to get from point A to point B today. Everyone is on their way home from wherever they rode out the storm, and they are taking the interstates back to N0LA and pts south.

Hey, I hear they got another one out in the gulf right behind Ivan! Maybe we'll just party straight on through, never stop to sober up unless we run out of beer or hurricane mix.

Nah. Never happen.

previous - next

still here - 2009-12-18
and so it goes - 2008-12-16
Watch out Benedict! - 2008-01-28
She got hit with the cancer stick - 2008-01-26
The Cure, Amy & Britney & Dogshit - 2008-01-05

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!