powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Site Meter
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

They driving me nuts down here!

2005-01-02 - 5:50 p.m.

I hate to start off the year with a rant, but here it comes, regardless.

along with the inability to put caps / lids back on anything, Queenie constantly fails to return cordless phones to their chargers so that they remain charged. In the house we have 3 cordless phones, 2 mine, 1 hers. The one in my bedroom is ancient, haviung been given to me by mi hija's biological father one year for Christmas. She's 18; we split up before she turned 3. I've never replaced its battery. You can imagine how long it keeps a charge. It's great for getting me off the phone, though: "Ooops, gotta go; the phone's beeping." It also has caller id, as does Queenie's phone, whereas my other one is strictlu utilitarian.

Today queenie comes in and I was lying down because I'd taken my allergy meds and gotten sleepy. Instead of taking the time to locate her caller id phone (it's never on the charger unless I put it there), she comes in to review mine for the day's calls. No problem (yet). She takes my phone out of my bedroom down the hall and into the other side of the house to do so. And she doesn't bring it back.

The phone rings. It's for me. She dispatches Gabby to tell me it's for me. I sigh and glance longingly at the empty receiver cradle, then get up and walk to the kitchen to use that cordless. No can do. Although it was in its charger earlier in the day, it has mysteriously disappeared. I go into Queenie's room to reclaim my own phone(s), and she has all 3 cordless phones in her room. Who needs 3 fucking phones? And why couldn't she send the little monster with one of mine?

But wait; it gets even better. She gets a call from her ex-mother-in-law. She's lying down herself at this point, so i answer and tell the woman she's sleeping. She tells me that she can't possibly be sleeping, that she just spoke with her a few minutes ago. Okay, you win, and I'm now a liar. So I go back in and again try to get her to respond verbally to, "Queenie, phone. It's Taz's Maw-Maw." She finally rouses herself to take the call. I wait 10 minutes or so, then decide to log on to the 'net. No I do not have dsl or even dial-up; I'm actually piggybacking from work here at the house.

There's no dial tone. I check again. Nuh uh. I again go to Queenie's room where she's either sleeping or playing a good game of possum. I see her cordless on the other side of the king size bed. I ask Gabby to crawl over and get it, and sho nuff, the goofy bitch left it off the hook.

Sigh. I try to tell myself that she's not really inconsiderate, just plain ignorant, but I can't really believe it. She's had capable jobs in her career, brought in 40 k a year, I know she knows how to hang up a goddamn telephone. Nobody's that fucking stupid. So it still boils down to self-absorption and inconsideration.

I got to get these people out of my fucking house. Soon.

previous - next

still here - 2009-12-18
and so it goes - 2008-12-16
Watch out Benedict! - 2008-01-28
She got hit with the cancer stick - 2008-01-26
The Cure, Amy & Britney & Dogshit - 2008-01-05

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!