powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Site Meter
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Dr. Doolittle

2003-08-01 - 8:12 p.m.

Still trippin' hard that I got a "B" in that class. I know, I'm easily amused. Spent the day getting stoned, fooling around in the yard, cleaning and cooking (roast beef and potatos; I forgot the corn). Fl@sh came over after work to smoke some more with me and just chill. I gave him a spider plant and a fern to bring home. I accidentally yanked them up by mistake. Nothing else. That was cool. I was kind of distracted today, thinking about things best left unsaid.

I've been doing a lot of internet research about communicating with dogs, trying to mend the rift between the b@sset and the new chihuahua. It's the chihuahua's fault, but the hound can be exuberantly obnoxious. The other chihuahua is just used to her by now. Anyway, what struck me as weird in a cool way was that, without my knowing the tips and tchniques of how to train / communicate with dogs, I was doing it already anyway. Things like talking to my dogs. If I got something to say, I'll turn to the basset or the chihuahua and let it out. I've woken the basset up before to tell her something. Don't remember what. And I call them all by a collective name ("Dogs!"), and they know they're being summoned as a group. I start the command or request with the dog's name, not the command. Anyone with multiple dogs knows that. Otherwise they get hurt feelings if you yell at them indiscriminately. They're like,"Whaddid I do now?" We all know that's not cool.

One thing I did learn was that animals convey messages amongst themselves telepathically, if you believe that. And we can learn to sent messages to them too. The easiest way is just to talk normally to them but use simple words, while thinking of the correct behavior, not the incorrect behavior. I decided to try it. Well, why the hell not? It's worth a shot, right? So tonight when I let the b@sset in and the chihuahua confronted her right away, while they were both in the kitchen I collared them and called them by name and started stroking them while I told them how sad it was that they couldn't get along and that it would make me so happy if they learned to accept one another. I didn't blame the chihuahua. And she started wagging her tail and let the bh sniff her butt, which is de rigeur for dogs. Then the b@sset lay down on her back and showed her belly, letting the chihuahua see she was being submissive. Just like they said it would, it worked!

I feel like Dr. Doolittle!

previous - next

still here - 2009-12-18
and so it goes - 2008-12-16
Watch out Benedict! - 2008-01-28
She got hit with the cancer stick - 2008-01-26
The Cure, Amy & Britney & Dogshit - 2008-01-05

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!