powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Site Meter
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Comin' around again

2004-12-12 - 11:31 a.m.

I had an unexpected surprise yesterday. A friend I hadn't heard from in a year had dropped off a Christmas card in my mailbox, apologizing for being out of touch and saying that she missed me.

I think I called her Boosey in here, b/c that's what my friend Red started calling her on a trip to Mexico one time. I hadn't heard from her since last Halloween when she and her husband and her grand-daughter that lives w/ them came by for trick-or-treat. After that, she just sort of fell off the face of the earth as far as I was concerned. Wouldn't take my calls or answer the door when I went by. Never acknowledged the Christmas presents I dropped off for her grand-daughter last year. Total incommunicado for over a year. At first, I admit my feelings were royally hurt, because i didn't know what I'd done to deserve being frozen out like that. I'd thought we were good friends, then we weren't, and I had absolutely no idea why or what she perceived that I had done to her. I heard through the grapevine that she'd also quit taking other's calls, too, then I heard she had a nervous breakdown and tried to kill herself. So it wasn't like we were ever mad, we just were no longer friends.

Yesterday after I got the card, I called her. I said that I had never been mad at her, but that my feelings had gotten hurt because she had cut me off like I'd done her so kind of wrong. Eventually, she said that her crackheaded daughter (the little girl's mama) had lied to her and said that she had seen me when she was visiting her aunt who lives across the street from me, and I had told her all kinds of things about her and her husband's lifestyle so she could get custody of her daughter back from them! That's the biggest crock of shit I ever heard in my life. To begin with, I haven't seen the crackhead since she got out of jail about 3 years ago and I went to her mama's house to bring her a plant as a welcome home gift. She left the plant at her mom's the next day when she left to go get high and stayed gone a year. Second, if I did see her at my neighbor's house, I damn sure wouldn't get all chummy with her, because the last f'n thing i need around here is a conniving crackhead looking to steal me blind at every opportunity. And lastly, I would never interfere with their custody dispute on behalf of the crackhead. Boosey and her husband have their share of problems, but that child is in the best place she can be. Her husband has a good job and they live in a nice home and they both dote on the girl completely. The daughter is an ex-con crackhead who gave birth about a year ago to a crack baby that was taken from her by the state and adopted. She's unfit and a huge loser who should be sterilized so she can't spawn other children she is unable to care for. I don't think that she should even have unsupervised visitation with her older daughter. Besides, it was I who urged them to go for custody and not just guardianship when I worked for Supercunt the attorney. They came to our office and got the paperwork drawn up b/c I told Boosey that guardianship alone would be insufficient protection if the crackhead wanted to kick up a fuss and take the child. So it makes utterly no sense that she would take the crackhead's word and blame me for something I didn't do and not even give me a chance to explain. I told her this, too. Because we are adults and that's how adults settle differences between them. Not by jumping to erroneous conclusions, making rash judgments and shutting ppl out of their lives. Rational adults sit down and hash it out. Yes, there are some things that cannot be fixed, glossed over or agreed to disagree about. But I honestly don't think that this was one of them. I'm just glad that she came to her senses and realized that her daughter has mental illness and her drug addiction exacerbates her manipulative nature and tendency toward pathological lying. I really do value my friends, and it hurts when I lose one.

I got to pull up the rest of the carpet in my dining room / living room today. Queenie is going to do faux painting on the floor. I know it will cause an allergic reactiuon, so I've been delaying it. But I want it done so that I can put up a tree. So let me go yank carpet.

previous - next

still here - 2009-12-18
and so it goes - 2008-12-16
Watch out Benedict! - 2008-01-28
She got hit with the cancer stick - 2008-01-26
The Cure, Amy & Britney & Dogshit - 2008-01-05

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!