powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Site Meter
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Shana is busy

2004-01-20 - 8:14 a.m.

For those of you who've asked, I still have a dead computer, but I've been trying to update at work when I get the chance. School starts back today, my last semester! Yee-haw! (loud rebel yell reverberates through high-ceilinged office) My classes are Adv@nced Gr@mm@r; Lit in Tr@nslation; Exp0sition, and I'm adding an independent study on Rest0r@tion / 18th Century British P0etry and dropping a desktop publishing class. I wanted to do another independent study with my former poetry prof with the goal of publishing some of my poetry, but I waited too long and he already had 3 other ones scheduled and was too busy. So I guess I got to get the lead out and do it on my own.

Did I ever mention that my office is located in an old building in @lligator that used to be a brothel? Well, it is. I feel so at home here!

Mi hija's Uncle J0ey, whom she hasn't seen for 12 years, is flying in to N0LA today for work. He called over the holidays and asked to get together w/ us while he's heree, I agreed, as I've always tried to maintain ties w/ her dad's side of the family so that she will have some sort of relationship with her kin even though her dad's an absolute cipher in her life. The rest of them are upstanding, decent, wonderful people, but of course, I, like a heat-seeking missile with unerring accuracy, managed to hook up with the one bad apple. So don't know what that all entails, but i expect we'll be playing hostess to him on at least one night, and may be joining him in the city also. To complicate matters further (but in a good way), my dear friend and old college buddy I'll call Big G and his wife and son are in from Saudi Arabia and are also arriving in N0LA the latter part of the week, so once again I'll be headed due south for some heavy duty partying. And Sat. night is our St. P@ddy's D@ay Krewe's Winter Fe@st. I go months without a significant social engagement, and then BAM! my calendar's jam-packed.

So if you don't hear from me for awhile, that be why.

Ciao, baby!

previous - next

still here - 2009-12-18
and so it goes - 2008-12-16
Watch out Benedict! - 2008-01-28
She got hit with the cancer stick - 2008-01-26
The Cure, Amy & Britney & Dogshit - 2008-01-05

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!