powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Site Meter
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Blowin' in the wind

2004-09-15 - 4:43 p.m.

This is from last night:

Well, it is almost Wednesday and we are all right, still high and dry, no bad weather as yet, Ivan still 300 hundred or so miles SSW from the mouth of the river, and still more likely the AL / MS Gulf coast will bear the brunt of it. But there ain�t no telling with a damn hurricane. It has a mind of its own and goes where it will.

Mi hija and her b/f helped me secure in the shed all the potential flying-projectile objects in my yard and front porch / patio. Of course, if the shed blows, it�s a moot point anyway. The moving finger has writ, man. I�m a fatalist. When your number�s up, you�re checkin� out. I think our lifestyles and plain dumb luck and karma pick the method, but we ain�t got a thing to do with the timing.

So all the stores were crazy today. Not a candle to be found. Up until I remembered to hit the local headshop. I got 10 of the best-scented candles you ever smelled. Yeah, they were $1.89 a piece, and yes, that�s exorbitant and extravagant, but wtf, it�s my hurricane and I damn sure want it to smell good! Mi hija tried to swipe all ten of them! I would have let her slide with one or two, but dammit, girl!

So I got this sty on my eye that is totally gross and incredibly painful. I�m taking hydrocodone to deal with how bad it hurts. It throbs with my heartbeat. I can�t think qbout bending over. I got the kind that�s just the dope w/o any Tylenol / ibuprofen so I could drink beer on �em. Hey, you gotta start somewhere. Anyway, I kept putting hot compresses on it for the last couple days, taking Keflex, finally it comes to a head (sort of). Ok, here�s the gross part. It�s on my eyelid, see, and I sterilize a needle and lance it and all this yellow pus squirts out and grosses me out. I was really careful not to let any of that nasty shit get into my eyeball, b/c my eye is really fuckin� close to my brain, and I sure don�t need a yucky infection to fuck up my brain!

* * * * * * * * * * * *

Well, I didn�t get a chance to finish that last night because an impromptu hurricane party sprang up that required my participation / supervision. I got another houseful of just kids today (so far, but the day is young), and we just had an incident involving the blender, the mudslides, the kitchen counter, window, and wall, and a bunch of towels. Guess I won�t be going anywhere anytime soon.

Y�all, fuckin� Mal-Wart and W / D closed today at noon. There was still Al**bertson�s, which I hit for the mudslides and the munchies this p.m. Saw Supercunt the atty there, and snubbed her sublimely. I worry about the storm when it causes Mal-Wart to close.

I brought almost all my shit in. Still got to hose off a table, bring it in and stow the hose. Later I got to bring in the dawgs. The 3 puppies aren�t gonna wanna. Well, the male will, but the females are skittish, just like their mama, although she�s been clamoring to get in over the past couple weeks. I�m gonna burn lots of incense and if I bring �em in before they get wet, they shouldn�t stink too bad.

Queenie came by last night and everything was fine between us. Cool. No reason why they shouldn�t be. It�s Gypsy that holds the grudges.

Celynne and I went and got sandbags today. 15 apiece, we could�ve got 25; hope we don�t need what we got and I can use �em to fill the dogholes in the yard (a doghole is when they dig up a dog-sized hole to lie in and get cool). Anyway, we�re ready. Mi hija�s b/f taped the windows, we took down all my windchimes and whimsical bright and shiny dangling things, brought in the plants � except for the massive, hernia-inducing avocado � that�s gotta make it on it�s own. Hey, if it blows away, we�re fucked anyway.

I think we�ll be fine. Really. But I expect a power loss. So it may be awhile before I�m back online. Keep on praying for us if you�re so inclined. We can use the good intentions on our behalf.

Peace and love to all of you from Shana!

previous - next

still here - 2009-12-18
and so it goes - 2008-12-16
Watch out Benedict! - 2008-01-28
She got hit with the cancer stick - 2008-01-26
The Cure, Amy & Britney & Dogshit - 2008-01-05

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!