powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Site Meter
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Banana Republic

2004-09-17 - 10:50 p.m.

I was so cowed by the destruction that I didn't even get to put in my real entry. My real entry is The Gay Marriage Ban vote.

Tomorrow in LA we get to vote on banning gay marriage, amonst other things. Not to mention that gay marriages are considered invalid anyway in most states of the union, and that several (supposedly progressive-thinking) municipalities have already passed statutes banning gay marriages, this amendment doesn't stop at that.

Before I go further, let me state that I'm a liberal Democrat. I pretty much believe in live and let live, although I'm not a huge advocate of gun control, I no longer own a firearm of any kind and no longer want to. But that has to do with the fact that I have a terrible temper and can get quite self-destructive, not because I don't think that I should be able to own a gun if I choose. But other than that, I'm definitely voting the liberal ticket. Not a problem in the world with gay rights. However, if I thought that it would pass and we would be done with the issue, I would consider voting for a bill sanctioning marriage to only be between a man and a woman. At least that's what I tell my conservative, fundamentalist friend Linsey. In the voting booth, I doubt that's how it'd really go down, but anway . . . the yahoos in the legislature weren't satisfied with keeping it as "the marriage amendment." That would be too cut and dried, too simple, too black-and-white for this fucked up state. It had to also nullify and deny all the inroads made by gays regarding civil unions and domestic partnerships, eradicate all benefits and legal provisions. And the motherfucker will pass overwhelmingly.

Of course, the ACLU will file litigation alleging all sorts of civil rights violations, and they will eventually, after expensive and protracted legal maneuvering and proposed settlements that will come from our depleted state coffers and already siphoned off variously-funded programs, the rights will be restored and victory will rightly be claimed.

That's the way this hardheaded state has always operated ~ like the Banana Republic it insits on emulating, complete with puppeteers and B actors. I don't know why I seem surprised.

previous - next

still here - 2009-12-18
and so it goes - 2008-12-16
Watch out Benedict! - 2008-01-28
She got hit with the cancer stick - 2008-01-26
The Cure, Amy & Britney & Dogshit - 2008-01-05

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!