powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Site Meter
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

really bad news

2004-01-05 - 10:11 a.m.

Well, my Christmas was very depressing because my friend I call Gypsy learned she has ovarian cancer. She went into the hospital on 12/19, and she's still there. They operated, but it's metastasized, and it doesn't look good. Her daughters and their husbands came up from the Houston area, and it's been decided that she'll get her follow-up care from MD Anderson over there, because if it can be cured, they can cure it. She has lost 28 lbs since she was admitted. 9.5 lbs was fluid pulled oout of her abdominal cavity. Last night I slept at the hospital to be with her. I rubbed her back when she hurt real bad and got her ice chips and water. I snuck her out the side door at 3 a.m. to smoke a cigarette, complete with IV pole, catheter, morphine drip, etc. It was still real warm, high 60s, right before a front passed over. We sat out there and cried.

It's not fair. It's never fair. Just like it wasn't fair for erlenweg's son Nolan to die of his brain tumor, it's not fair for Gypsy to die now, just when she's finally found a good man to love her and she has security. She told me her mama, who died in an arson fire, came to her in a dream after her surgery, and that she's not scared. But she's sad. When her kids and her sister was there, everyone was crying all the time. We need to toughen up and help her fight this.

I'm strong enough to get her through this. I can do this for my girl.

previous - next

still here - 2009-12-18
and so it goes - 2008-12-16
Watch out Benedict! - 2008-01-28
She got hit with the cancer stick - 2008-01-26
The Cure, Amy & Britney & Dogshit - 2008-01-05

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!